Connecticut Campus Compact’s Award Program

 The Annual Awards Program honors representatives of Connecticut Campus Compact’s member institutions who exemplify the public purposes of colleges and universities by deepening their ability to implement all forms of public engagement, providing civic pathways to academic and career success, and nurturing a culture of engaged citizenship on campus and within communities. In awarding these honors, Connecticut Campus Compact hopes to promote knowledge sharing among education, community, government, and business leaders on critical issues, as well as increase public awareness of and support for campus-community partnerships.

Campus Community Partnership Award

The Campus-Community Partnership Award recognizes outstanding campus-community partnerships that produce measurable improvements in and demonstrate a commitment to a community while enhancing higher education. This award is designed to help increase the number and the effectiveness of other campus-community partnerships by promoting examples of successful partnerships in Connecticut. Partnerships that are awarded demonstrate mutually beneficial collaboration between a campus and community organization or business that addresses co-identified societal challenges and measurable success with respect to the mission and goals of the partnership. These partnerships engage in ongoing assessment, joint decision-making, and the shared goal of partnership sustainability and evolution. Learn More

Community Engaged Educator Award   

The Connecticut Campus Compact Community Engaged Educator Award recognizes and honors an outstanding individual for significant impact on student civic learning and development through activities such as academic service-learning, co-curricular service engagement, and/or leadership development. The individual awarded this honor is recognized for their role in creating and furthering a culture of engagement through working with campus leadership, supporting faculty/staff engagement, and fostering meaningful community partnerships. Learn More

Community Engaged Scholarship Award   

The Community Engaged Scholarship Award will be presented to one faculty member from a CTCC member institution whose scholarship, expressed in teaching, research, and/or service, reflects the highest degree of ethics and effectiveness and responds significantly to the need for knowledge-sharing between academic disciplines and the public. The purpose of this award is to honor scholarship that is mutually beneficial to both academic and partner communities. Learn More

Campus Leadership Award

The Connecticut Campus Compact Campus Leadership Award recognizes a person or group from a member campus for their significant contributions to the institutionalization of civic and community engagement. The award recipient has an exemplary track record of promoting policy, practice, and values that support community and civic engagement. This campus leader will have provided exceptional support to faculty, staff, students, and community partners in their engagement in areas such as service-learning, community service, engaged scholarship, civic learning, and social innovation. Learn More

National Campus Compact Awards

Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award 

The Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award recognizes one senior faculty member (post-tenure or middle-to-late career at institutions without tenure) each year. Honorees (who must be affiliated with a Campus Compact member institution) are recognized for exemplary engaged scholarship, including leadership in advancing students’ civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, building institutional commitments to service-learning and civic engagement, and other means of enhancing higher education’s contributions to the public good. The award — previously known as the Thomas Ehrlich Faculty Award for Service-Learning — is named in honor of Thomas Ehrlich, former chair of the Campus Compact board of directors and president emeritus of Indiana University.